Austin Davis wins 2011 Conerly Trophy

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Southern Miss senior quarterback Austin Davis received the 2011 C Spire Wireless Conerly Trophy for the top college football player in the state of Mississippi in a presentation at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame, in Jackson, Tuesday night.
The victory by Davis completes the calendar year cycle sweep for the school as Southern Miss won all three major state awards for its men's sports, including Gary Flowers capturing the Bailey Howell Trophy for basketball and Tyler Koelling being awarded the Boo Ferris Award for baseball.
Davis, who has led the Golden Eagles to a 10-2 record this season and the Conference USA championship game this weekend at Houston, is the fourth Southern Miss player to win this award since its inception in 1996. Linebacker Rod Davis was the first Golden Eagle to capture the award in 2002, while fellow linebacker Michael Boley won the accolade in 2004 and running back Damion Fletcher garnered the trophy in 2007.
Davis, from Meridian, Miss., is the all-time leader in most of the school's career passing categories including yards (10,448), touchdown passes (77), completions (898), attempts (1,453) and total offense (11,756).
His accomplishments have not been limited to the field as he was named a finalist for the Burlsworth Trophy, recognizing a former walk-on who has gone on to excel for his team. In addition, he is one of 10 finalists for both the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award as well as the ARA National Sportsmanship Award.
A member of the school's Hall of Fame as a student, Davis was the 2010 Conference USA Scholar-Athlete of the Year, while also earning his degree in Business Administration in December of last year. He currently is pursuing a masters degree in Coaching at the University and is expected to complete his postgraduate work this spring.